!Mediengruppe Bitnik

OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1)
  • !Mediengruppe Bitnik, OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), 2018
    Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel
  • !Mediengruppe Bitnik, OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), 2018
    Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel

Logistics defines itself as a procedure in which every exception from the rule and every error are part of the plan. Frictionless transport means sophisticated planning and optimized processes. The work OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), by the Swiss collective !Mediengruppe Bitnik seeks out the imperfections in the logistic systems in which nowadays computers calculate nearly all necessary decisions. To do so 21 packages were shipped out from Berlin via the logistics services provider DHL Express. Each package was, however, given two delivery addresses: one in Halle (Saale) and one in Brussels.
The work experiments with a decision-making process that was never intended and references the work The Postman’s Choice by Ben Vautier from the year 1965 in which a postal worker decides where a postcard that has two delivery addresses is finally to be sent. As it was back then, the standard rule in digital shipping operations is that for every shipping unit there must be one sender and one clear recipient. In between these two the logistics system works mechanically by means of barcodes, scanners and programmed directives. Autonomous judgements based on the same source information also remind us of Buridan’s ass and its dilemma, providing insights into a system that usually works invisibly.

OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), 2018
14 of 21 LED illuminated letters, 14 of 21 cardboard boxes addressed and posted to two exhibition spaces, trafos and cables, chrome-plated pipes, hangers, tv screen with tracking web site, full screen, 16:9

!Mediengruppe Bitnik are the artists Carmen Weisskopf and Domagoj Smoljo. Their work on and with the Internet spans an arc from digital to physical space. They participate with a new Mail Art work at Werkleitz Festival 2018 Holen und Bringen.

!Mediengruppe Bitnik

OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1)
  • !Mediengruppe Bitnik, OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), 2018
    Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel
  • !Mediengruppe Bitnik, OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), 2018
    Installationansicht © Foto Falk Wenzel

Logistik versteht sich als ein Verfahren, in dem jede Ausnahme von der Regel und jeder Fehler bereits geplant und mitgedacht sein will. Reibungslosigkeit zeugt von Planungsreife und optimierten Abläufen. Die Arbeit OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), des Schweizer Kollektivs !Mediengruppe Bitnik fragt nach den Fehlstellen in logistischen Systemen, die heute überwiegend von Computern errechnete Entscheidungen treffen. Dazu wurden 21 Pakete über den deutschen Logistikdienstleister DHL Express als Sendung von Berlin verschickt und jedes Paket wurde gleichzeitig mit zwei Zieladressen versehen: Halle (Saale) und Brüssel.

Die Arbeit experimentiert mit einem Entscheidungsmoment, das so nicht vorgesehen ist, und greift dabei die 1965 entstandene Arbeit The Postman’s Choice von Ben Vautier auf, der noch den Briefträger über den finalen Zustellungsort einer zweifach adressierten Postkarte entscheiden lassen wollte. Auch heute sagt die Norm des digitalen Verfahrens, dass es für jede Versandeinheit einen Absender und einen eindeutigen Empfänger geben muss. Dazwischen arbeitet dann schematisch das logistische System mit Strichcodes, Scannern und programmierten Anordnungen. Autonome Urteile bei gleichwertiger Quellenlage erinnern nicht nur an Buridans Esel und sein Entscheidungsdilemma. Sie erzeugen Einsichten in ein System, welches im Normalfall unsichtbar arbeitet.

OSTL HINE ECSION (Postal Machine Decision Part 1), 2018
14 von 21 LED Leuchtbuchstaben, 14 von 21 gleichzeitig an zwei Ausstellungen adressierte und versandte Postpakete, Trafos, Kabel, Chromstahlröhren, Bügel, Fernseher mit Tracking-Webseite, Vollbild, 16:9

!Mediengruppe Bitnik sind die Künstler Carmen Weisskopf und Domagoj Smoljo. Ihre Arbeiten im und mit dem Internet spannen einen Bogen vom digitalen zum physischen Raum. Sie beteiligen sich mit einer neuen Mail Art Arbeit am diesjährigen Werkleitz Festival.